Happy Birthday!

Happy birthday to the one and only – my Mom! She would be 54 today and lookin’ wonderful, I’m sure. I keep getting older and the image I have of Mom stays this young, beautiful 40-something year old face.

To celebrate, I made a dinner that always reminds me of her – STUFFED SHELLS. I made a few tweaks based on my vegetarianism, but the spices all stayed the same, so I was able to strum up the oh-so-familiar smell that once filled her kitchen.

To make up for the absent hamburger, I chopped spinach leaves + artichoke hearts and mixed it up with the mozzarella + parmesan. To keep it smelling familiar, I always throw in garlic, thyme, fresh basil, and lots of oregano. Spread on sauce and … WaaaLAH! Done.

Actually, I had to make one other change … The co-op was out of large shells, so I substituted with manicotti noodles. In short, my attempt to make “Mom’s Stuffed Shells,” came out as “Ashley’s Spinach + Artichoke Manicotti.” Oh well. I tried. To defend my amateur cooking skills, it still smelled the same so I was happy! It’s the thought that counts, right?! Hehe. We think of you all the time and miss you constantly, Mom. Happy, happy Birthday!

One Comment to “Happy Birthday!”

  1. Love this photo of you both….so much alike. I know she is very proud of you and what you’ve accomplished and all that you will. She was so cool. Miss her much.

Leave a Reply

