kitchen stories

I have revived my love of juicing! As lame as it sounds, my juicer is a biatch to clean, so it had been a while. Anyway, I have decided to put it to good use the past few days – mainly due to some inspiration from my Aunt Lisa + Uncle Tony – but also because the seasons are changing and there’s no better time to eat a load of vegetables to avoid becoming best buddies with a stuffy nose.

My favorite blend so far contains a combination of fruits + vegetables … I like to call it “Garden Juice” for a few reasons. This juice LITERALLY tastes like you’re on your hands and knees in the garden, licking the dirt floor. Sound good, right? Just kidding. I hope you were visualizing yourself doing that though. I’m not gonna lie, this recipe does taste a bit like dirt, but if you like beets, I know you hear what I’m saying. So good! If you’re less inclined to drink up a cup of the outdoor floor, just add a few more apples and maybe 1/2 lemon to the following:

Garden Juice
3 beets
2 apples
4 big carrots
1 bunch kale
1 inch piece ginger

I have been preparing my juices at night after dinner and then storing them in the fridge until morning. The combination of all the vitamins and minerals is the. perfect. breakfast! I have continued to have my morning coffee, but am hopefully moving away from that (thanks to my crazy heart). Another HUGE benefit for me is that rather than constantly shoving vegetables down my throat to get enough protein into my diet (vegetarian here!), I have the ability to toss a whole load of dark green, leafy lettuces in the juicer and waalah! My protein intake for the day is instantly fulfilled.

A recipe I’m not going to share with you is from the juice I made last night (pictured below). It was not good. I added too much ginger, lotsa lemon, and a whole buncha spinach resulting in very acidic tasting nastiness. But the photos are sweet, so enjoy.


Obviously I’ve been having way too much fun exploring with my juicer. If you have recipes to share, send them along!! If you want to learn more, watch “Fat Sick and Nearly Dead.” Intense and a little over-the-top, but you know how I love the food documentaries.

2 Comments to “kitchen stories”

  1. Good combo. We’ll have to try it this week. We’re making two juices per night for the next day. I put together a quick fruit juice that’s pretty tasty. Banana, Pear, Pinapple and Coconut water. I use the blender for this one….quick, easy and great for breakfast.

  2. looking forward to trying your recipe, “Outdoor Floor”! haa

Leave a Reply

